We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content

Parish Council

The Council

The Parish Council is currently made up of 11 local unpaid volunteers who are elected for a 4-year term of office and who have a variety of responsibilities. Due to the elections being brought in line with the Unitary Authority elections the current term of office is 5 years and runs to May 2027.

The Council Chairman and Vice-Chairman are elected each year at the Annual Parish Council meeting. Cllrs Christine Saint and Alisdair McFarlane were elected as Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively.

From September 2022, the parish council will meet on the 3rd Wednesday of every month in the village hall at 7.00pm except for August and December


Parish Councillors

Name Area of Responsibility

Cllr Christine Saint

Chair, Finance, LCN, Planning, Recreation Ground

Cllr Alisdair McFarlane

Vice Chair, Allotments, Emergency Plan & Environmental Warden, National Trust, Planning, Recreation Ground

Cllr Jonathan Davies

Highways, School Liaison - Stanchester

Cllr Leona Drayton

Finance, LCN

Cllr Terry Harper

Allotments, Finance, Highways, Recreation Ground

Cllr Martin Myram

Highways, Speedwatch, Speed Indicator Device

Cllr Brendon Owen

Finance, LCN, Planning, Recreation Ground

Cllr Sue Richings

LCN, School Liaison - All Saints

Cllr Heather Stokes

Neighbourhood Watch, Recreation Ground

Cllr David Warry

Finance, Planning, Street Lighting, Triangle Trust

All correspondence should be addressed to the Parish Clerk, who will put it before the council or distribute as required.

Parish Clerk: Sarah Moore

Post: 24 High Street, Stoke sub Hamdon, Somerset TA14 6PS

Telephone: (01935) 822455